Badakhshan

This mountainous province in north-eastern Afghanistan borders with Tajikistan, China and Pakistan and consists of 28 districts. The main language is Dari.

With poorly developed infrastructure, regularly occurring natural disasters and many people lacking access to health care, drinking water and energy supplies, the province continues to face obstacles when it comes to economic growth and development. Agriculture is one of the main sources of income for Badakhshan’s 960,000 or so residents. Nonetheless, the province is rich in natural resources, some of which are already being mined.

Small mountain villages are not connected to the provincial transport network. Therefore, work is being undertaken to further expand the network, the main aim being to connect Badakhshan with Afghanistan’s other regions. The provincial capital Feyzabad also has an airport, which is currently used by aid organisations, the United Nations, the military and commercial flights.

For many years, the German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Badakhshan in the areas of education, administrative reform, the rule of law, economic development, disaster prevention, food security, and drinking water and energy supply. A wide range of infrastructure initiatives have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Badakhshan.

Projects in Focus

Promoting Cross-Border Development and Cooperation In order to improve the livelihoods of the people living in highly inaccessible border regions in Afghanistan, Pakistan and Tajikistan, facilitate their cooperation and integration, and drive economic development, the German Government is supporting the expansion of the local socio-economic infrastructure. more
Strengthen sustainable economic growth in northern Afghanistan In order to stimulate sustainable economic growth, increase Afghan farmers’ yields and promote employment, the German Government is supporting economic programmes in Afghanistan’s northern regions. more
Clean Water in Northern Afghanistan In order to upgrade the water supply system and improve the quality of drinking water in Afghanistan’s northern towns, the German Government is supporting the development of essential infrastructure. more
Improving Health Care Provision for the Afghan People In order to safeguard public health in areas outside the capital Kabul, the German Government is supporting the reconstruction of, and the provision of adequate medical equipment for, health centres across Afghanistan. Measures to eradicate wild poliovirus in Afghanistan – one of the three countries where it is still endemic (the others being Nigeria and Pakistan) – are also funded by the German Government. more
Energy as an Economic Factor – Creating a Legal Framework and Facilitating Investment In the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghan institutions and companies to increase the energy supply throughout the country and create investment incentives. As a result, all processes will in future be coordinated by Afghans themselves at both provincial and national level. more
Renewable energy for Afghanistan In order to ensure that Afghanistan’s electricity supply operates sustainably and efficiently in the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with building decentralised electricity generation facilities based on renewable energy. more
Reforming the Education Sector – New Teaching Standards and Curricula In order to improve basic education, the German Government is working with the Government of Switzerland to support Afghanistan’s Ministry of Education with teacher training and to make learning content more diverse and accessible. more
Legal Certainty for all Citizens Since 2002, the German Government has been working with the Netherlands and Finland to assist Afghanistan with developing an effective justice system. While significant progress has already been made, there is still more work to be done to guarantee the rule of law for citizens in rural and urban areas alike. more
Strong local government structures to stabilize northern Afghanistan In order to strengthen local governance structures at district level and at the same time improve living conditions for Afghanistan’s rural population, the German Government is supporting the necessary capacity development measures and smaller infrastructure initiatives in Afghanistan. more
Transparently Planning and Implementing Development Measures In Afghanistan, responsibility for providing access to infrastructure and basic services rests with the provincial administrations. The German Government is assisting them to implement infrastructure measures in Northern Afghanistan, make processes more plannable and implement measures as effectively as possible on an independent basis. In this way, it is helping to promote socio-economic development among the Afghan population. more
Public Authorities as Pillars of Society In order to boost the Afghan citizens’ confidence in the public administration, the German Government is supporting the expansion of state structures and the provision of professional training to staff, especially in rural areas. more
Youth for Peace In order to drive the peaceful development of Afghan society and thereby create future prospects for the population, the German Government is assisting the Civil Peace Service with breaking the prevailing cycles of violence in Afghanistan. more

Stories & Faces

Badakhshan

Die gebirgige Provinz zählt 28 Distrikte im Nordosten Afghanistans und grenzt an Tadschikistan, China und Pakistan. Gesprochen wird dort hauptsächlich Dari.

Die weiterhin schlecht ausgebaute Infrastruktur, immer wieder auftretende Naturkatastrophen sowie fehlende Gesundheits-, Trinkwasser- und Energieversorgung vieler Menschen behindern weiterhin das Wirtschaftswachstum und die Entwicklung der Provinz. Für die etwa 960.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der Provinz stellt die Landwirtschaft eine der wichtigsten Einkommensquellen dar. Badakhshan verfügt allerdings über eine Vielzahl natürlicher Ressourcen, die bereits in einigen Bergwerken erschlossen werden.

Weil kleine Ortschaften in den Bergen nicht an das Verkehrsnetz angebunden sind, wird das Verkehrsnetz der Provinz weiterhin ausgebaut, um insbesondere die Verbindung Badakhshans mit den übrigen Regionen Afghanistans zu gewährleisten. Die Provinzhauptstadt Faizabad verfügt außerdem über einen Flughafen, der aktuell von Hilfsorganisationen, den Vereinten Nationen, dem Militär und kommerziell genutzt wird.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in der Provinz Badakhshan in den Bereichen Bildung, Verwaltungsreform, Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Katastrophenprävention, Ernährungssicherung, Trinkwasser- und Energieversorgung aktiv. Mit Hilfe diverser Infrastrukturmaßnahmen konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Badakhshan.

Im Fokus

Sauberes Wasser im Norden Afghanistans Um die Verbesserung des Trinkwassernetzes sowie der Trinkwasserqualität in nördlichen Städten Afghanistans zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Ausbau der diesbezüglich notwendigen Infrastruktur. mehr
Erneuerbare Energien für Afghanistan Um langfristig eine gleichermaßen nachhaltige und effiziente Stromversorgung in Afghanistan zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung Afghanistan beim Bau dezentraler Stromerzeugungsanlagen auf Basis von erneuerbaren Energien. mehr
Wirtschaftsfaktor Energie – einen legalen Rahmen schaffen und Investitionen begünstigen Die deutsche Bundesregierung unterstützt afghanische Institutionen und Unternehmen dabei, langfristig die Energieversorgung im ganzen Land zu steigern und Investitionsanreize zu schaffen, so dass die Koordination aller Prozesse zukünftig in afghanischer Hand liegt – in den Provinzen sowie auf nationaler Ebene. mehr
Die Gesundheitsversorgung der afghanischen Bevölkerung verbessern Um den Gesundheitsschutz auch über die Grenzen der Hauptstadt Kabul hinaus zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Wiederaufbau und die medizinisch adäquate Ausstattung von Gesundheitszentren in Afghanistan. Auch Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des neben Nigeria und Pakistan nur noch in Afghanistan endemischen „wilden“ Poliovirus werden durch die deutsche Bundesregierung gefördert. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger Seit 2002 unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung mit Beteiligung der Niederlande und Finnlands Afghanistan dabei, ein effektives staatliches Justizsystem aufzubauen. Obwohl bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt werden konnten, besteht noch Handlungsbedarf, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewähren – auf dem Land ebenso wie in städtischen Gebieten. mehr
Starke lokale Regierungsstrukturen zur Stabilisierung Nordafghanistans Um lokale Strukturen der Regierungsführung auf Distriktebene zu stärken und gleichzeitig die Lebensbedingungen der afghanischen Bevölkerung in ländlichen Gebieten zu verbessern, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung die dafür notwendige Entwicklung von Kapazitäten sowie kleinere Infrastrukturmaßnahmen in Afghanistan. mehr
Staatliche Organe als Stützpfeiler der Gesellschaft Um das Vertrauen der afghanischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die staatliche Verwaltung zu stärken, fördert die deutsche Bundesregierung den Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen und die professionelle Ausbildung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – besonders auf dem Land. mehr
Entwicklung transparent planen und verwirklichen Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zur Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Grundlagen der afghanischen Gesellschaft und Planungsmechanismen für lokale Verwaltungs- und Staatsorgane schaffen mehr
Jugend für den Frieden Um eine friedliche Entwicklung der afghanischen Gesellschaft voranzubringen, die der Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven eröffnen kann, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Zivilen Friedensdienst in Afghanistan dabei, vorherrschende Gewaltspiralen zu durchbrechen. mehr

Unsere Geschichten