Energy – the Key to Development

Frequent power cuts and rationing are an everyday occurrence for the Afghan people. Around 70% of households in large metropolitan areas have an electricity supply, compared with just 20% of households in rural regions, where three quarters of the population live. Under such circumstances, companies’ production capacity is limited, which means that barely any new jobs are being created and the economic growth so important to the country is failing to materialise.

A large proportion (over 70%) of Afghanistan’s electricity is imported; the country produces very little electricity of its own. Given the country’s plans for rapid electrification and low prices abroad, importing energy is currently the best option. And yet this situation also creates political dependencies. In the long term, it is necessary to strengthen Afghan electricity production and leverage the great potential of renewable energy to this end.

Since 2003, the German Government has been assisting Afghanistan to develop a sustainable energy supply. The focus in this context is on development and expansion, on rehabilitating the electricity infrastructure and on building systems for energy production from renewable resources. As well as seeking to expand the grid to encourage electricity imports, the Afghan Government’s national energy programme aims to boost national energy production from hydro, solar and wind power in future. At political level, support is also being provided to Afghanistan in the areas of strategy development, standardisation, training in the use of renewable energies and improvement of decentralised energy supplies using renewables.

For further information about our work in the priority area of energy, please see the project descriptions and the ‘Stories’ section.

 

Our work in this sector

Hydropower: Providing Reliable Energy to the Capital In order to keep increasing the security of the electricity supply to the Afghan population, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan to rehabilitate its electricity infrastructure and energy production facilities, such as hydropower plants. more
Renewable energy for Afghanistan In order to ensure that Afghanistan’s electricity supply operates sustainably and efficiently in the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with building decentralised electricity generation facilities based on renewable energy. more
Energy as a Driver of Development in Northern Afghanistan In Afghanistan, the electricity supply situation varies greatly between urban and rural regions. In order to ensure that Northern Afghanistan’s rural population also has secure access to energy, the German Government is supporting work to expand grid-based infrastructure. more
Energy as an Economic Factor – Creating a Legal Framework and Facilitating Investment In the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghan institutions and companies to increase the energy supply throughout the country and create investment incentives. As a result, all processes will in future be coordinated by Afghans themselves at both provincial and national level. more
Electricity in Northern Afghanistan – Promoting Economic Growth and Reducing Poverty In order to ensure a reliable energy supply and the associated economic growth, the German Government is providing support for the construction of electricity transmission and distribution grids in rural regions of Northern Afghanistan, more

Our stories

Energie - Schlüssel für Entwicklung

Häufige Stromausfälle und Rationierungen gehören zum Alltag der afghanischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger. In städtischen Ballungsgebieten verfügen etwa 70 % der Haushalte über Strom. In den ländlichen Gebieten haben allerdings nur 20 % Zugang zu Energie – dort leben jedoch drei Viertel der Menschen. Betriebe können unter diesen Umständen nur unzureichend produzieren. Folglich entstehen kaum neue Arbeitsplätze und das für das Land so wichtige Wirtschaftswachstum wird nicht erzielt.

Ein Großteil des Stroms wird importiert (mehr als 60 %) und die Eigenproduktion von Energie in Afghanistan ist gering. In Anbetracht der anvisierten zügigen Elektrifizierung des Landes sowie der günstigen Preise im Ausland ist der Energieimport momentan die beste Option. Diese Situation schafft jedoch auch politische Abhängigkeiten. Langfristig gilt es, die afghanische Stromproduktion zu stärken und diesbezüglich das große Potenzial erneuerbarer Energien zu nutzen.

Die Bundesregierung unterstützt Afghanistan seit 2003 dabei, eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung aufzubauen. Der Fokus liegt hierbei auf dem Auf- und Ausbau sowie der Rehabilitierung der Strominfrastruktur sowie dem Aufbau von Anlagen zur Energieproduktion aus erneuerbaren Ressourcen. Das nationale Energieprogramm der afghanischen Regierung sieht vor, neben dem Netzausbau zur Förderung von Stromimporten künftig auch verstärkt die nationale Energieproduktion aus Wasser-, Solar- und Windkraft zu fördern. Auf politischer Ebene werden afghanische Akteure außerdem bei Strategieentwicklung, Standardisierungsprozessen, Ausbildung für die Nutzung regenerativer Energien sowie der Verbesserung der dezentralen Energieversorgung mit erneuerbaren Energien unterstützt.

Nähere Informationen zu unserer Arbeit im Schwerpunkt Energie finden Sie auch unter den Projektbeschreibungen und unter den „Geschichten“.

 

Unsere Arbeit im Schwerpunkt

Mit Wasserkraft zuverlässige Energie für die Hauptstadt Um der afghanischen Bevölkerung eine zunehmend gesicherte Stromversorgung zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan bei der Rehabilitierung der Strominfrastruktur sowie von Anlagen zur Energieproduktion wie beispielsweise Wasserkraftwerken. mehr
Erneuerbare Energien für Afghanistan Um langfristig eine gleichermaßen nachhaltige und effiziente Stromversorgung in Afghanistan zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan beim Bau dezentraler Stromerzeugungsanlagen auf Basis von erneuerbaren Energien. mehr
Strom im Norden Afghanistans – für Wirtschaftswachstum und Armutsbekämpfung Um eine zuverlässige Energiezufuhr und damit einhergehendes Wirtschaftswachstum zu ermöglichen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Bau von Stromübertragungs- und Verteilungsnetzen in ländlichen Regionen im Norden Afghanistans. mehr
Energie als Entwicklungsmotor – auch für den Norden Afghanistans Innerhalb der afghanischen Bevölkerung gibt es große Unterschiede in der Stromversorgung zwischen städtischen und ländlichen Regionen. Um auch der Landbevölkerung im Norden Afghanistans einen gesicherten Zugang zu Energie zu ermöglichen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Ausbau von netzbasierter Infrastruktur. mehr
Wirtschaftsfaktor Energie – einen legalen Rahmen schaffen und Investitionen begünstigen Die Bundesregierung unterstützt afghanische Institutionen und Unternehmen dabei, langfristig die Energieversorgung im ganzen Land zu steigern und Investitionsanreize zu schaffen, so dass die Koordination aller Prozesse zukünftig in afghanischer Hand liegt – in den Provinzen sowie auf nationaler Ebene. mehr

Aktuelles

Geschichten

Twitter icon
Facebook icon