Kabul

The Afghan capital Kabul serves as the point of coordination for all activities in the country. It is home to the government, ministers, the German Embassy, numerous non-governmental organisations, and development cooperation agencies of all donor countries. It is the place where legislation is drafted, strategies are devised, civilian construction projects are initiated and development concepts are implemented, in several cases with support from the German Cooperation with Afghanistan.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Kabul for many years. Advisory services are provided to partners at political level in order to optimise national policies and processes, fight corruption and introduce rule of law principles. As well as its involvement in programmes in the area of good governance, the German government funds a large number of educational and training initiatives. Additionally, it provides support for energy, health care, water supply and waste disposal projects.

In order to coordinate joint efforts in support of Afghanistan as effectively as possible, consultations are held in Kabul between all stakeholder groups and the Afghan government. In this way, decisions are often made on the design of projects at provincial, district and municipal level. A wide range of programmes have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Kabul.

Projects in Focus

Improving Quality of Life and Creating Job Opportunities in the Heart of Kabul In order to create appropriate facilities for young people and women, the German Government is helping to revitalise the historic Chihilsitoon Park (‘40 Columns Park’) in southern Kabul. The park, at 12 ha Kabul’s largest, will now be given a modern layout and revitalised. more
Strengthen sustainable economic growth in northern Afghanistan In order to stimulate sustainable economic growth, increase Afghan farmers’ yields and promote employment, the German Government is supporting economic programmes in Afghanistan’s northern regions. more
Clear Rules and Qualified Staff for a Clean Water Supply Access to drinking water and sustainable wastewater management depend most of all on qualified staff at the local level and on competent and efficient institutions. The German Government is therefore supporting Afghanistan’s efforts to establish the requisite legal and administrative structures and efficient management processes and to implement a strategic policy framework. more
Expanding the Water Supply System to Improve Services in Kabul In order to ensure that the Afghan people have access to a regular supply of high-quality drinking water in adequate quantities, the German Government is supporting the development and expansion of the water system in the capital Kabul. more
Energy as an Economic Factor – Creating a Legal Framework and Facilitating Investment In the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghan institutions and companies to increase the energy supply throughout the country and create investment incentives. As a result, all processes will in future be coordinated by Afghans themselves at both provincial and national level. more
Renewable energy for Afghanistan In order to ensure that Afghanistan’s electricity supply operates sustainably and efficiently in the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with building decentralised electricity generation facilities based on renewable energy. more
Hydropower: Providing Reliable Energy to the Capital In order to keep increasing the security of the electricity supply to the Afghan population, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan to rehabilitate its electricity infrastructure and energy production facilities, such as hydropower plants. more
School Sponsorship in Afghanistan – Improving the Quality of Education In order to achieve continuous improvements in the quality of education for young Afghans, the German Government is sponsoring three schools in Kabul – the Amani High School for Boys, the Aysha-e-Durani High School for Girls and the Lycée Jamhuriat (a secondary business school for girls) – to become schools of excellence. These model schools will serve as an example for others. more
Sport for Development in Afghanistan Sport at school? That is still unfamiliar to many students in Afghanistan. But sport makes a positive contribution to young people’s physical and intellectual development and builds motor skills. Therefore, the German Government is supporting the introduction of physical education as a subject in Afghanistan’s schools. more
Reforming the Education Sector – New Teaching Standards and Curricula In order to improve basic education, the German Government is working with the Government of Switzerland to support Afghanistan’s Ministry of Education with teacher training and to make learning content more diverse and accessible. more
Mining in Afghanistan – Improving University Education, Supporting Innovation In order to make better use of the potential offered by the raw materials sector, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan to improve its system of academic mining education, to align it to industry and labour market needs and to build its international networks. more
Reforms for an Effective and Trustworthy State In order to make public administration more effective in the long term and prevent corruption, the German Government is supporting reform processes in Afghanistan, providing experts to assist the Afghan institutions with this work. This benefits the administrative staff and citizens alike. more
Discussion Platform for Good Governance: Govern4Afghanistan In order to promote greater sharing of knowledge on good governance matters and thereby support the qualitative expansion of state structures in Afghanistan, the German Government has joined forces with Afghan partners to launch the discussion platform and think-and-do tank Govern4Afghanistan . more
Integrated Experts in Afghanistan In order to improve the management skills of Afghan Government ministries, key institutions and administrative bodies, the German Government is assisting with the placement of integrated experts on the Afghan labour market. more
Youth for Peace In order to drive the peaceful development of Afghan society and thereby create future prospects for the population, the German Government is assisting the Civil Peace Service with breaking the prevailing cycles of violence in Afghanistan. more
Sustainable Mining for Economic Growth The Afghan mining sector offers great economic potential which could significantly boost growth in the country. In order to fully leverage this potential, the German Government is assisting Afghan actors to make mining activities transparent and conducive to innovation in the long term. more

Stories & Faces

Kabul

In der afghanischen Hauptstadt Kabul laufen die Fäden aller Aktivitäten im Land zusammen. Hier sitzen Regierung, Minister, die Deutsche Botschaft, zahlreiche Nichtregierungsorganisationen sowie Organisationen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sämtlicher internationalen Geberländer. In Kabul finden Gesetze ihren Ursprung, Strategien werden erarbeitet, zivile Aufbauprojekte initiiert und Entwicklungskonzepte umgesetzt – auch mit Unterstützung der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in Kabul aktiv. Partner werden auf politischer Ebene beraten, um nationale Leitlinien sowie Prozesse zu optimieren, Korruption zu bekämpfen und Prinzipien der Rechtsstaatlichkeit einzubringen. Neben den Programmen im Bereich der guten Regierungsführung fördert die deutsche Bundesregierung außerdem eine Vielzahl an Bildungs- sowie Ausbildungsprogrammen. Außerdem werden Projekte der Energie-, Gesundheits- und Wasserversorgung sowie Abwasserentsorgung unterstützt.

Um die gemeinsamen Anstrengungen zur Unterstützung Afghanistans optimal aufeinander abzustimmen, finden in der Hauptstadt des Landes Absprachen zwischen allen Interessenvertretern und der afghanischen Regierung statt. So wird hier auch häufig über die Gestaltung von Projekten auf Provinz-, Distrikt- und Kommunalebene entschieden. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Kabul.

Im Fokus

Klare Regeln & qualifizierte Fachkräfte für sauberes Trinkwasser Zugang zu Trinkwasser und ein nachhaltiges Abwassermanagement erfordern insbesondere qualifizierte Fachkräfte vor Ort sowie kompetente und effiziente Institutionen. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan bei der Schaffung notwendiger rechtlicher und administrativer Strukturen und effizienter Managementabläufe sowie bei der strategischen Umsetzung politischer Leitlinien. mehr
Das Trinkwasserversorgungssystem ausbauen – für mehr Wasser in Kabul Um die afghanische Bevölkerung durchgängig mit einwandfreiem und qualitativ hochwertigem Trinkwasser in ausreichender Menge zu versorgen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Ausbau und die Erweiterung des Trinkwasserversorgungsnetzes in der Hauptstadt Kabul. mehr
Wirtschaftsfaktor Energie – einen legalen Rahmen schaffen und Investitionen begünstigen Die Bundesregierung unterstützt afghanische Institutionen und Unternehmen dabei, langfristig die Energieversorgung im ganzen Land zu steigern und Investitionsanreize zu schaffen, so dass die Koordination aller Prozesse zukünftig in afghanischer Hand liegt – in den Provinzen sowie auf nationaler Ebene. mehr
Erneuerbare Energien für Afghanistan Um langfristig eine gleichermaßen nachhaltige und effiziente Stromversorgung in Afghanistan zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan beim Bau dezentraler Stromerzeugungsanlagen auf Basis von erneuerbaren Energien. mehr
Mit Wasserkraft zuverlässige Energie für die Hauptstadt Um der afghanischen Bevölkerung eine zunehmend gesicherte Stromversorgung zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan bei der Rehabilitierung der Strominfrastruktur sowie von Anlagen zur Energieproduktion wie beispielsweise Wasserkraftwerken. mehr
Schulförderung in Afghanistan – für einen besseren Unterricht Um die Bildung von afghanischen Kindern und Jugendlichen kontinuierlich zu verbessern, unterstützt die Bundesregierung drei Modellschulen in Kabul, die als Vorbild für Bildungseinrichtungen gelten sollen: Die Amani-Schule für Jungen, die Aisha-e-Durani-Schule für Mädchen und das Lycée Jamhuriat, ein Wirtschaftsgymnasium für Mädchen. mehr
Sport für Entwicklung in Afghanistan Sport als Schulfach – das kennen viele Schülerinnen und Schüler in Afghanistan noch nicht. Sport trägt jedoch positiv zur körperlichen, motorischen und geistigen Entwicklung von jungen Menschen bei. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt die Bundesregierung die Einführung des Unterrichtsfachs Sport an Schulen in Afghanistan. mehr
Den Bildungssektor reformieren – neue Standards für Lehrkräfte & Lehrpläne Um die Grundbildung im Land langfristig zu verbessern, unterstützt die Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit der Schweizer Regierung das afghanische Bildungsministerium in der Ausbildung seiner Lehrkräfte und hilft, Lerninhalte vielseitiger und verständlicher zu gestalten. mehr
Bergbau in Afghanistan – Hochschulausbildung verbessern & Innovationen schaffen Um die Potenziale im Rohstoffsektor besser ausschöpfen zu können, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan dabei, die fachliche Hochschulausbildung für die Bergbauindustrie zu verbessern, sie auf die Bedürfnisse von Arbeitsmarkt und Wirtschaft anzupassen und internationaler zu vernetzen. mehr
Reformen für einen effektiven und vertrauenswürdigen Staat Um die öffentliche Verwaltung langfristig effektiver zu gestalten und Korruption vorzubeugen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Reformprozesse in Afghanistan und stellt dabei den afghanischen Institutionen Fachexpertinnen und -experten zur Seite. Davon profitieren sowohl die Verwaltungsfachkräfte selbst als auch Bürgerinnen und Bürger. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger Seit 2002 unterstützt die Bundesregierung mit Beteiligung der Niederlande und Finnlands Afghanistan dabei, ein effektives staatliches Justizsystem aufzubauen. Obwohl bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt werden konnten, besteht noch Handlungsbedarf, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewähren – auf dem Land ebenso wie in städtischen Gebieten. mehr
Diskussionsplattform Gute Regierungsführung: Govern4Afghanistan Um Kenntnisse im Bereich der guten Regierungsführung verstärkt auszutauschen und somit den qualitativen Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen in Afghanistan zu unterstützen, hat die Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit afghanischen Partnern die Diskussionsplattform sowie den Think-and-do-tank Govern4Afghanistan ins Leben gerufen. mehr
Fachkräfteintegration in Afghanistan Um die Managementfähigkeiten afghanischer Fachministerien, wichtiger Institutionen und Verwaltungsorgane zu erhöhen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung die Vermittlung Integrierter Fachkräfte in den afghanischen Arbeitsmarkt. mehr
Jugend für den Frieden Um eine friedliche Entwicklung der afghanischen Gesellschaft voranzubringen, die der Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven eröffnen kann, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Zivilen Friedensdienst in Afghanistan dabei, vorherrschende Gewaltspiralen zu durchbrechen. mehr
Nachhaltiger Bergbau für Wirtschaftswachstum Der afghanische Bergbausektor birgt große Wirtschaftspotenziale, die das Wachstum des Landes stark ankurbeln könnten. Um diese voll auszuschöpfen, unterstützt die Bundesregierung afghanische Akteure dabei, den Abbau langfristig innovationsfördernd und transparent zu gestalten. mehr

Aktuelles

Unsere Geschichten