One of the world’s poorest nations, Afghanistan is a priority country for German Cooperation. The international community has been supporting civilian reconstruction since the fall of the Taliban in 2001. Germany is assuming particular responsibility in Badakhshan, Baghlan, Balkh, Kunduz, Samangan and Takhar Provinces and in the capital Kabul.

The German Cooperation  with Afghanistan’s key focus is to build an Afghan state that respects, protects and guarantees human rights, fights corruption and drug cultivation, provides domestic security, creates a reliable legal system, and is recognised by its citizens as their legitimate representative and provider of services which meet their basic needs. It affords its citizens legal certainty and offers them prospects for the future and opportunities to have their say and shape their own lives and the economic and political spheres. Germany is assisting Afghanistan with fighting poverty and improving its governance and economic performance, thereby paving the way for lasting stability and security, including in non-urban areas.

As well as German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in the six priority provinces in the north of the country, Germany funds projects which extend into Bamyan, Faryab, Daikundi, Herat, Jowzjan, Kandahar, Khost, Nangarhar, Paktia and Sar-e Pul Provinces.

BALKH SAMANGAN BAGHLAN KUNDUZ TAKHAR BADAKHSHAN KABUL

Als eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt ist Afghanistan Schwerpunktland der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Die internationale Staatengemeinschaft unterstützt den zivilen Wiederaufbau seit dem Sturz des Taliban-Regimes 2001. Deutschland übernimmt insbesondere in den Provinzen Badakhshan, Baghlan, Balkh, Kunduz, Samangan und Takhar sowie der Hauptstadt Kabul besondere Verantwortung.

Zentrales Anliegen der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist der Aufbau eines afghanischen Staates, der die Menschenrechte achtet, schützt und gewährleistet, Korruption und Drogenanbau bekämpft, innere Sicherheit sowie ein verlässliches Rechtssystem schafft und von seinen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern als legitime Vertretung und Dienstleister zur Sicherung ihrer Grundbedürfnisse anerkannt wird. Er gibt seinen Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtssicherheit und eröffnet ihnen Zukunftschancen, Möglichkeiten der Mitsprache sowie der eigenverantwortlichen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Gestaltung. Deutschland unterstützt Afghanistan darin, Armut zu bekämpfen, die Regierungsführung sowie die wirtschaftliche Situation zu verbessern und damit eine Grundlage für nachhaltige Stabilität und Sicherheit zu schaffen – auch außerhalb der Städte.

Neben Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in den sechs Schwerpunktprovinzen im Norden des Landes erstrecken sich die von Deutschland unterstützen Vorhaben in die Provinzen Bamyan, Faryab, Daikundi Herat, Jowzjan, Kandahar, Khost, Nangarhar, Paktia und Sar-e Pul.

BALKH SAMANGAN BAGHLAN KUNDUZ TAKHAR BADAKHSHAN KABUL