Samangan

Located in northern Afghanistan, the mountainous province of Samangan consists of seven districts. Dari and Pashtu are the main languages. Over 90% of the province’s 390,000-plus residents live in rural areas, often in very remote regions.

Local people earn their livelihoods primarily from agriculture, even though most of the agricultural land is not adequately irrigated. Drought and flooding can lead to sudden food shortages and income shortfalls. Besides agriculture, coal mining and brown marble extraction are sources of employment.

An inadequate water supply is one of the main challenges for the population. Just 20% of households have access to clean drinking water. Even the provincial capital Aybak relies on tankers to supply its drinking water. Many of the remote villages have no electricity, schools or health care.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Samangan for many years, with a particular focus on education, energy supply, health care, agricultural development, water supply, and waste water disposal. A wide range of programmes have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Samangan.

Projects in Focus

Strengthen sustainable economic growth in northern Afghanistan In order to stimulate sustainable economic growth, increase Afghan farmers’ yields and promote employment, the German Government is supporting economic programmes in Afghanistan’s northern regions. more
Integrating Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) – More than a Logistical Challenge In order to improve conditions for IDPs over the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with the implementation of the National Policy on Internally Displaced Persons which, among other things, supports their local integration. more
Energy as a Driver of Development in Northern Afghanistan In Afghanistan, the electricity supply situation varies greatly between urban and rural regions. In order to ensure that Northern Afghanistan’s rural population also has secure access to energy, the German Government is supporting work to expand grid-based infrastructure. more
Clear Rules and Qualified Staff for a Clean Water Supply Access to drinking water and sustainable wastewater management depend most of all on qualified staff at the local level and on competent and efficient institutions. The German Government is therefore supporting Afghanistan’s efforts to establish the requisite legal and administrative structures and efficient management processes and to implement a strategic policy framework. more
Reforms for an Effective and Trustworthy State In order to make public administration more effective in the long term and prevent corruption, the German Government is supporting reform processes in Afghanistan, providing experts to assist the Afghan institutions with this work. This benefits the administrative staff and citizens alike. more
Legal Certainty for all Citizens Since 2002, the German Government has been working with the Netherlands and Finland to assist Afghanistan with developing an effective justice system. While significant progress has already been made, there is still more work to be done to guarantee the rule of law for citizens in rural and urban areas alike. more
Public Authorities as Pillars of Society In order to boost the Afghan citizens’ confidence in the public administration, the German Government is supporting the expansion of state structures and the provision of professional training to staff, especially in rural areas. more
Transparently Planning and Implementing Development Measures In Afghanistan, responsibility for providing access to infrastructure and basic services rests with the provincial administrations. The German Government is assisting them to implement infrastructure measures in Northern Afghanistan, make processes more plannable and implement measures as effectively as possible on an independent basis. In this way, it is helping to promote socio-economic development among the Afghan population. more
Youth for Peace In order to drive the peaceful development of Afghan society and thereby create future prospects for the population, the German Government is assisting the Civil Peace Service with breaking the prevailing cycles of violence in Afghanistan. more
Energy as an Economic Factor – Creating a Legal Framework and Facilitating Investment In the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghan institutions and companies to increase the energy supply throughout the country and create investment incentives. As a result, all processes will in future be coordinated by Afghans themselves at both provincial and national level. more

Stories & Faces

Samangan

Die gebirgige Provinz Samangan besteht aus sieben Distrikten und befindet sich im Norden Afghanistans. Dari und Paschtu sind die verbreitetsten Sprachen. Über 90 % der über 390.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der Provinz leben auf dem Land, häufig in sehr abgelegenen Regionen.

Die Menschen vor Ort generieren ihre Einnahmen hauptsächlich durch Landwirtschaft, obwohl die meisten landwirtschaftlichen Flächen nicht ausreichend bewässert sind. Dürren oder Überflutungen führen rasch zu prekären Ernährungs- und Einkommensengpässen. Neben der Landwirtschaft bieten der Kohlebergbau und der Abbau von braunem Marmor Arbeitsplätze.

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für die Bevölkerung ist der mangelhafte Zugang zu Wasser. Nur 20 % der Haushalte verfügen über sauberes Trinkwasser. Selbst die Provinzhauptstadt Aybak wird von Lastwagen mit Trinkwasser versorgt. Zahlreiche der abgeschiedenen Dörfer haben keinen Strom, keine Schulen und keine Gesundheitsversorgung. Hinzu kommen zahlreiche rückkehrende Flüchtlinge, die Unterstützung und ein Dach über dem Kopf benötigen.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in Samangan aktiv. Bildung, Energieversorgung, Gesundheits- und Landwirtschaftsförderung sowie Wasserver- und Abwasserentsorgung stehen dabei im Fokus. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Samangan.

 

Im Fokus

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum im Norden Afghanistans stärken Um das Wirtschaftswachstum nachhaltig anzukurbeln, die Erträge afghanischer Landwirte zu steigern und die Beschäftigung im Land zu fördern, unterstützt Deutschland wirtschaftliche Vorhaben in den nördlichen Regionen des Landes. mehr
Binnenvertriebene integrieren – mehr als eine logistische Herausforderung Um die Lebensbedingungen von Flüchtlingen langfristig zu verbessern, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung Afghanistan in der Umsetzung der Nationalen Strategie für die Binnenvertriebenen. Diese dient unter anderem der Integration in die Gesellschaft am neuen Wohnort. mehr
Energie als Entwicklungsmotor – auch für den Norden Afghanistans Innerhalb der afghanischen Bevölkerung gibt es große Unterschiede in der Stromversorgung zwischen städtischen und ländlichen Regionen. Um auch der Landbevölkerung im Norden Afghanistans einen gesicherten Zugang zu Energie zu ermöglichen, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Ausbau von netzbasierter Infrastruktur. mehr
Klare Regeln & qualifizierte Fachkräfte für sauberes Trinkwasser Zugang zu Trinkwasser und ein nachhaltiges Abwassermanagement erfordern insbesondere qualifizierte Fachkräfte vor Ort sowie kompetente und effiziente Institutionen. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung Afghanistan bei der Schaffung notwendiger rechtlicher und administrativer Strukturen und effizienter Managementabläufe sowie bei der strategischen Umsetzung politischer Leitlinien. mehr
Den Bildungssektor reformieren – neue Standards für Lehrkräfte & Lehrpläne Um die Grundbildung im Land langfristig zu verbessern, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit der Schweizer Regierung das afghanische Bildungsministerium in der Ausbildung seiner Lehrkräfte und hilft, Lerninhalte vielseitiger und verständlicher zu gestalten. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger Seit 2002 unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung mit Beteiligung der Niederlande und Finnlands Afghanistan dabei, ein effektives staatliches Justizsystem aufzubauen. Obwohl bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt werden konnten, besteht noch Handlungsbedarf, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewähren – auf dem Land ebenso wie in städtischen Gebieten. mehr
Staatliche Organe als Stützpfeiler der Gesellschaft Um das Vertrauen der afghanischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die staatliche Verwaltung zu stärken, fördert die deutsche Bundesregierung den Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen und die professionelle Ausbildung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – besonders auf dem Land. mehr
Entwicklung transparent planen und verwirklichen Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zur Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Grundlagen der afghanischen Gesellschaft und Planungsmechanismen für lokale Verwaltungs- und Staatsorgane schaffen mehr
Jugend für den Frieden Um eine friedliche Entwicklung der afghanischen Gesellschaft voranzubringen, die der Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven eröffnen kann, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Zivilen Friedensdienst in Afghanistan dabei, vorherrschende Gewaltspiralen zu durchbrechen. mehr

Unsere Geschichten