Takhar

Consisting of 17 districts, the rural province of Takhar is located in north-eastern Afghanistan, where it borders Tajikistan. Around one million people live within its 12,000 square kilometre territory.

The province faces a number of major challenges. The remote geographical location of a number of districts, sluggish economic growth, poverty, a lack of education among the rural population, and a volatile security situation in some areas hinder progress and development. Almost 90% of the population live in rural areas. The near inaccessibility of several districts means that their residents often have to rely on horses and donkeys for transport. Schools and health centres are difficult to reach. Natural disasters such as avalanches and floods are a frequent occurrence. The provincial economy is largely based on the service and agricultural sectors. Local people generate most of their income through the sale of agricultural products from this relatively fertile and water-rich region and the manufacture of ceramics, jewellery and rugs.

The German Cooperation with Afghanistan has been working in Takhar for many years, with a particular focus on promoting the rule of law, developing the capacity of regional government organisations, encouraging sustainable economic development, and improving drinking water and energy supplies. A wide range of programmes have helped to effect change and improve local people’s living conditions.

This section provides you with an overview of German Cooperation with Afghanistan’s activities in Takhar.

 

Projects in Focus

Strengthen sustainable economic growth in northern Afghanistan In order to stimulate sustainable economic growth, increase Afghan farmers’ yields and promote employment, the German Government is supporting economic programmes in Afghanistan’s northern regions. more
Clean Water in Northern Afghanistan In order to upgrade the water supply system and improve the quality of drinking water in Afghanistan’s northern towns, the German Government is supporting the development of essential infrastructure. more
Improving Health Care Provision for the Afghan People In order to safeguard public health in areas outside the capital Kabul, the German Government is supporting the reconstruction of, and the provision of adequate medical equipment for, health centres across Afghanistan. Measures to eradicate wild poliovirus in Afghanistan – one of the three countries where it is still endemic (the others being Nigeria and Pakistan) – are also funded by the German Government. more
Energy as an Economic Factor – Creating a Legal Framework and Facilitating Investment In the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghan institutions and companies to increase the energy supply throughout the country and create investment incentives. As a result, all processes will in future be coordinated by Afghans themselves at both provincial and national level. more
Renewable energy for Afghanistan In order to ensure that Afghanistan’s electricity supply operates sustainably and efficiently in the long term, the German Government is assisting Afghanistan with building decentralised electricity generation facilities based on renewable energy. more
Reforming the Education Sector – New Teaching Standards and Curricula In order to improve basic education, the German Government is working with the Government of Switzerland to support Afghanistan’s Ministry of Education with teacher training and to make learning content more diverse and accessible. more
Legal Certainty for all Citizens Since 2002, the German Government has been working with the Netherlands and Finland to assist Afghanistan with developing an effective justice system. While significant progress has already been made, there is still more work to be done to guarantee the rule of law for citizens in rural and urban areas alike. more
Strong local government structures to stabilize northern Afghanistan In order to strengthen local governance structures at district level and at the same time improve living conditions for Afghanistan’s rural population, the German Government is supporting the necessary capacity development measures and smaller infrastructure initiatives in Afghanistan. more
Public Authorities as Pillars of Society In order to boost the Afghan citizens’ confidence in the public administration, the German Government is supporting the expansion of state structures and the provision of professional training to staff, especially in rural areas. more
Transparently Planning and Implementing Development Measures In Afghanistan, responsibility for providing access to infrastructure and basic services rests with the provincial administrations. The German Government is assisting them to implement infrastructure measures in Northern Afghanistan, make processes more plannable and implement measures as effectively as possible on an independent basis. In this way, it is helping to promote socio-economic development among the Afghan population. more
Youth for Peace In order to drive the peaceful development of Afghan society and thereby create future prospects for the population, the German Government is assisting the Civil Peace Service with breaking the prevailing cycles of violence in Afghanistan. more

Stories & Faces

Takhar

Die aus 17 Distrikten bestehende, ländlich geprägte Provinz Takhar liegt im Nordosten Afghanistans und grenzt an Tadschikistan. Auf über 12.000 Quadratkilometern leben hier rund eine Million Menschen.

Die Provinz steht vor großen Herausforderungen. Die geografische Abgeschiedenheit einiger Distrikte, schleppendes Wirtschaftswachstum, Armut, fehlende Bildung der ländlichen Bevölkerung sowie eine mancherorts volatile Sicherheitslage behindern Fortschritt und Entwicklung. Fast 90 % der Menschen leben in ländlichen Gebieten. Da einige Distrikte kaum zugänglich sind, sind Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner dort oft auf Pferde und Esel als Transportmittel angewiesen. Schulen und Gesundheitszentren können nur schwer erreicht werden. Naturkatastrophen wie beispielsweise Lawinen oder Fluten treten immer wieder auf. Die Wirtschaft der Provinz basiert zum Großteil auf Dienstleistungen und Landwirtschaft. Agrarprodukte aus der relativ wasserreichen und fruchtbaren Gegend und die Herstellung von Keramik, Schmuck und Teppichen gehören zu den wichtigsten Einnahmequellen der Bevölkerung.

Die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan ist seit vielen Jahren in Takhar aktiv. Bildung, Förderung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Kapazitätsentwicklung regionaler Regierungsorganisationen, nachhaltige Wirtschaftsentwicklung, Trinkwasser- und Energieversorgung stehen dabei im Fokus. Mit Hilfe diverser Programme konnten Erfolge erzielt und die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort verbessert werden.

Hier erhalten Sie eine Übersicht über die Tätigkeiten der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in Takhar.

Im Fokus

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum im Norden Afghanistans stärken Um das Wirtschaftswachstum nachhaltig anzukurbeln, die Erträge afghanischer Landwirte zu steigern und die Beschäftigung im Land zu fördern, unterstützt Deutschland wirtschaftliche Vorhaben in den nördlichen Regionen des Landes. mehr
Sauberes Wasser im Norden Afghanistans Um die Verbesserung des Trinkwassernetzes sowie der Trinkwasserqualität in nördlichen Städten Afghanistans zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Ausbau der diesbezüglich notwendigen Infrastruktur. mehr
Die Gesundheitsversorgung der afghanischen Bevölkerung verbessern Um den Gesundheitsschutz auch über die Grenzen der Hauptstadt Kabul hinaus zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Wiederaufbau und die medizinisch adäquate Ausstattung von Gesundheitszentren in Afghanistan. Auch Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des neben Nigeria und Pakistan nur noch in Afghanistan endemischen „wilden“ Poliovirus werden durch die Bundesregierung gefördert. mehr
Wirtschaftsfaktor Energie – einen legalen Rahmen schaffen und Investitionen begünstigen Die Bundesregierung unterstützt afghanische Institutionen und Unternehmen dabei, langfristig die Energieversorgung im ganzen Land zu steigern und Investitionsanreize zu schaffen, so dass die Koordination aller Prozesse zukünftig in afghanischer Hand liegt – in den Provinzen sowie auf nationaler Ebene. mehr
Erneuerbare Energien für Afghanistan Um langfristig eine gleichermaßen nachhaltige und effiziente Stromversorgung in Afghanistan zu gewährleisten, unterstützt die Bundesregierung Afghanistan beim Bau dezentraler Stromerzeugungsanlagen auf Basis von erneuerbaren Energien. mehr
Den Bildungssektor reformieren – neue Standards für Lehrkräfte & Lehrpläne Um die Grundbildung im Land langfristig zu verbessern, unterstützt die Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit der Schweizer Regierung das afghanische Bildungsministerium in der Ausbildung seiner Lehrkräfte und hilft, Lerninhalte vielseitiger und verständlicher zu gestalten. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger Seit 2002 unterstützt die Bundesregierung mit Beteiligung der Niederlande und Finnlands Afghanistan dabei, ein effektives staatliches Justizsystem aufzubauen. Obwohl bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt werden konnten, besteht noch Handlungsbedarf, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewähren – auf dem Land ebenso wie in städtischen Gebieten. mehr
Starke lokale Regierungsstrukturen zur Stabilisierung Nordafghanistans Um lokale Strukturen der Regierungsführung auf Distriktebene zu stärken und gleichzeitig die Lebensbedingungen der afghanischen Bevölkerung in ländlichen Gebieten zu verbessern, unterstützt die Bundesregierung die dafür notwendige Entwicklung von Kapazitäten sowie kleinere Infrastrukturmaßnahmen in Afghanistan. mehr
Staatliche Organe als Stützpfeiler der Gesellschaft Um das Vertrauen der afghanischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die staatliche Verwaltung zu stärken, fördert die Bundesregierung den Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen und die professionelle Ausbildung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – besonders auf dem Land. mehr
Entwicklung transparent planen und verwirklichen Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zur Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Grundlagen der afghanischen Gesellschaft und Planungsmechanismen für lokale Verwaltungs- und Staatsorgane schaffen mehr
Jugend für den Frieden Um eine friedliche Entwicklung der afghanischen Gesellschaft voranzubringen, die der Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven eröffnen kann, unterstützt die Bundesregierung den Zivilen Friedensdienst in Afghanistan dabei, vorherrschende Gewaltspiralen zu durchbrechen. mehr

Unsere Geschichten